[1.0.2.1] 2H Aether Death Knight

This is my first build and I really wanted to make an aether melee toon with the necromancer. I managed to get a well-rolled rare 2H Fleshwarped Core and decided to level this one to use it and the Krieg’s set I had.

It is not the fastest clear in the game, or the toughest build, but it is fully serviceable and capable of clearing the game on all difficulties. Most of the gear is farmable (Krieg set in particular is easy to farm) and it should be something more accessible than some of the top tier builds. I recently hit 100 with it and am tweaking gear and devotions. Advice on set up is always appreciated.

Updated screenshot with current gear:

From Soldier we get a lot of OA, attack speed, physique, a gap closer, and of course, our damage dealer, Cadence. The Necro tree gives us more OA, Aether damage, and -rr%. The gear for this class combo isn’t stellar, but the Krieg’s set is quite adequate for this set up, and a rare Fleshwarped Core mace serves the build well.

Current build and gear: http://www.grimtools.com/calc/a2d7XvJN

Final gear: http://www.grimtools.com/calc/eZPzPWg2

Pros:

• melee with a closer (Blitz; I can’t stand to run to my enemies)
  • durable
  • good single target; and decent AOE
  • craftable/purchasable weapon, and only 1 piece of MI gear

Cons:

• another. cadence. build.
  • not the most gear choices (Krieg’s set is about the only legenary gear support I found)
  • almost all aether, so enemy resists can be an issue, though I have not found this to be a huge issue

Alternate Gear and Devotion Choices:
Weapon: Temporal Arcblade - Aether damage, 2H sword. I like the rare mace over this, but the Arcblade may be easier to farm.
Belt: Mythical Reforged Chains of Oleron - +soldier skills, and crit damage are nice. The Soulweave Epic I have compliments my resists nicely, and has +Cadence, so I imagine either will work fine.
Rings: Judicator’s Set - good defensive set up with attack speed to boot.