Hey everyone. I’m new here and to forums so this is my attempt at troubleshooting my issue. Here’s the story.
I have an Occultist that I was playing on the base version of Grim Dawn. I bought AoM but the friend whom I play with has not. Without doing any research I install the expansion and attempt to host a multiplayer game to see if I can still play with him. Obviously, you can’t. So I uninstall AoM to play the base game with him but now my character has been locked into AoM and deleted from the base game.
I’ve tried looking around for any helpful information such as local saves/cloud saves and tinkering around with them but I just can’t figure out how to revert my character. I’m lead to believe that a save of my Occultist exists on both versions of the game (base/expansion) but whenever I load base Grim Dawn, my Occultist doesn’t exist. Looking into local/cloud saves, my Occultist has a folder save in both so I don’t know what steps I need to take to recover him.
Any feedback would be much appreciated. I’m sure the truth is out there.
All of my characters (3) have only one underscore in front of their names in both locations (local/cloud).
I have turned off the Cloud Saving and re-opened the game but nothing changed. Only 2 of my 3 characters existed without AoM installed.
I have Crucible installed but never played it once. Not sure if it can still cause an issue that way.
Is it possible that Cloud Saving just hard saved after AoM installed and somehow removed Pre-AoM information? I don’t have any double underscore folders which I’ve seen a lot of other players say they have so I don’t know what significance that has.
If you do not have these backup folders with two underscores, then you cannot use these chars in a pre-AoM game. Maybe check your recycler, if you find these folders there. :undecided:
Weird that I can use 2 of those characters still even though they only have one underscore. I guess something happened when I installed AoM. Super disappointing and lame. I feel like this could have been designed better to avoid issues like mine or make it more flexible between the two versions.
By default every character folder has only one underscore - regardless, if you played them in the base game or with the expansion. Only those chars, which you started without the expansion and continued to play with after installing the expansion, get this backup folder, so that you do not lose them, if you decide to go back to the pre-expansion state.
Somehow I have the impression, that you played with two of your chars only before the expansion, and you started the other one after installing the expansion. In that case the last char cannot be used without the expansion.
Isn’t that weird then that my character’s folder is there but it doesn’t exist in the base game anymore? Like I said in my first post, I only installed AoM to attempt to host with a friend and immediately uninstalled to see what I could do with base GD and found that he was deleted.
I had all 3 characters made before I purchased and installed AoM.