first-time player

This is my first time playing Grim Dawn, and I’m enjoying it immensely. However, I think I may have reached the end boss too early. I’m only level 47, and Loghorrean is like level 52 and keeps kicking my butt. I’m OK with doing other stuff to level up to 50 before taking on Loghorrean, but what should I do? I’ve explored every zone I’ve come across, even most of that horrendous area I got to via an aetherial rift.

Thanks in advance,
Wrayk

Level 47 is a normal level to defeat the Loghorrean. Gaining a few levels will not change the level offset - not sure what the level cap is for him, but I think he scales up at least to level 60 on the first difficulty. Maybe it is suffcient to increase health and / or resistance to prepare for him, which you can easily do by crafting a few new items. Otherwise do a few boss runs and / or revise your build.

The majority of the game scales to your level within huge bounds. You basically cannot be under leveled for the main storyline, and if you level up more, so will he. Until like 60 or something as stated above, but by no means do you need to be there to beat him. If enemies are about 3-5 levels up on you, that’s totally normal.

So if you are struggling with him, try to add components to your gear with chaos and vitality resistance. You could also craft some potions which give you those resists. Additionally, you might just not have enough hp. You can take some points out of damage abilities, and put them into one of your masteries to get some more.

Na, that isn’t too far off the mark. Log is the lock before you enter elite, he’s meant to be a bit of a check. Your build is probably fairly bad (Don’t feel too bad about that, there are a lot of things that are not intuitive for first time players, it’s generally expected you will fuck up at least your first character or 3 in GD).