Forcewave is underrated.

I started playing the game just a few weeks ago, 2 days before patch 1.0.0.4. I picked Commando as my first character because I knew I wanted Soldier and then Demo because my gf was going for a cold/lightning build. I don’t really care for builds that rely on auto-attack skills like Firestrike or Cadence, and when I tried Forcewave with the Tremor transmuter I knew I wanted to build around it. It’s exactly the kind of skill that I like to use. I got even more excited when just the next day the skill got a pretty significant buff. I’ve had so much fun developing my character and making him into what he is today that I don’t even really want to make another one, he already suits my playstyle perfectly. When I decide to make a Hardcore character it will certainly be another Commando.

I managed to clear the entire game through ultimate with self-found gear using my own Forcewave build. After that I began seeking out BiS items and reworking the skills/devotions to squeeze out more damage wherever I could. My first Log kill was a battle of attrition that took over 15 minutes, but I was very happy to have done it at all. With BiS gear, including the new Justicar set, the Log fight takes 2.5 minutes. Here’s a video of a full clear of the two floors above Log and the final fight: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UEjBahjmtsg

I’d like to write a guide for the build if anyone is interested. Anyways, here’s the build with item bonuses and constellations: https://grimcalc.com/build/CEWblVq

When you take the transmuter. It’s better to refer to it as “Tremor”.

I never really considered forcewave to be bad regardless. But I haven’t used it in a long time. Due to the skill using cast speed instead of attack speed some players find it difficult to gear for etc etc.