Opinions on builds

Greetings all!
Sorry if this has been posted before, but I simply don’t have time to scour the entire fourm at the moment. :wink:
I was just curious if I was the only one who thinks the Nightblade just simply doesn’t pair well with anything other than demolitionist?
I’m aware I’m a relative newb with only around 130 hours into it, and I don’t fully understand all the gearing and what not. I love the Nightblade class, but it really seems to be a stand alone, to me. I’ve tried pairing it with demo, that works fairly well. I have tried pairing it with an arcanist, and I did not do well. I tried pairing it with occultist, and that seemed to work ok, but not well
I tried with soldier too, and that didn’t seem to work very well, yet I’ve seen folks say that is one of the more powerful builds in the game. It just doesn’t seem to flow since the soldier is pretty reliant on 2HW and/or shield.
I even paired it with Inquisitor, which I thought was going to be an amazing build, but I’ve yet to see it work well. Granted, a lot of these combos are fairly ‘young’ yet, but my main Nightblade is 50 something, and that has been the only one that seems to work. In that build, however I am guilty of not dropping a lot of points into demo. It was my first character, and I completely didn’t understand the system, but after dumping some points into demo, I decided that I wanted to work the Nightblade tree to as close to max as I could get, so I wound up with about 3 mastery levels in demo, with 5 points in flame strike, and that’s about it. The rest went into the nightblade tree.
Anyway, I was just curious. I realize I am still learning the system, including devotion, and was wondering if I’m missing something.