Rifle fire strike build help

I’m quite new to the game (Have a level 62 Warder so far) and I have started a Demolitionist. I haven’t picked up my second mastery yet. I would like to make that a Rifle build with fire strike as the main attack (tried dual pistol, didn’t like it). I’d like it to be pretty tanky if possible. Also, since I’m just getting started, something not too gear-dependent would be great.

What second mastery do you recommend, and why ?
What should I be looking for ?

Edit: I don’t have the expansion yet, so Necro and Inquisitor are out for now

If you want to be tanky, Soldier and Arcanist would be better options. Soldier has solid HP and physique (therefore Defensive Ability is high too), and arcanist has lower HP, but has a skill that reduces 20% incoming damage but reduces your damage by 8% (which can go up to 25% incoming damage reduction for enemies and 0 for you if you overcap it to the max).

With soldier, you would be little weaker than with arcanist (in defense), but your damage will be much higher. I’d personally recommend Soldier because it supports every damage type, while Arcanist supports aether and fire (with a touch of chaos). You can also use grimtools.com build calculator to check how your build could look (remember the site scales to level 100, and you get 2 skill points from level 50 - 90 and 1 point from level 90+).

You could also go Shaman, but it only provides health and a bit of damage reduction if we talk about tankiness. Wendigo Totem sometimes helps going through normal and elite difficulty with no gear. Shaman also provides elemental resist reduction to your enemies, which increases your damage tremendously.

Thanks for the reply

Would that make sense ?

https://www.grimtools.com/calc/q2mGrqmZ

Hey Chuck, welcome, I was wondering when you’d start posting here. :slight_smile: