soldier + what suggestions?

greetings, all! my first post… I’ve been playing GD for about 3 months now, got my first character up to level 87 elementalist (probably going for something along the lines of zeus’ lawn chair, haven’t decided yet), and my second main character just hit level 82… soldier… I find myself unable to pull the trigger on a second class yet.

I’ve read, uh… almost all of the soldier builds in build compendium V and VI and the reasonable builds for crucible thread… lots of great ideas, but the vast majority of them, even if they don’t rely on MIs, rely on a lot of legendaries that I just haven’t accumulated yet.

I like the doubleblitz commando, but have a long way to go to gear up and no sniffings of Korvaak’s Deception, I’ve got one piece of Markovian’s, non-mythical… I like the forcewave tactician, but no Octavius gear…

so, anyone have any suggestions for what might be the most versatile combo for soldier that’s a bit less super-legendary dependent? I’ve also got a necromancer around 40 or so, probably going death knight with him, so leaning away from necromancer…

thanks in advance, and I’ve loved reading and following along with all the build thread and drooling over the gear, you guys have been a great help so far…

HH

I would go Warder or Witchblade.

Every class combo is legendary hungry. You can’t just make a build with no legendaries and be powerful (I mean, you can, but it won’t be as effective). I’d rather go for something I find interesting and/or exciting. If you don’t want to make many characters, consider making a heavy armor based build, for example Soldier + Arcanist or Soldier + Necromander and get Krieg set, which is kind of easy to farm and drops from certain monsters. With that set you’d be able to farm bosses peacefully if your resists are capped and get many legendary items.

You can do a commando, it’s fun to play

https://www.grimtools.com/calc/m23wr942