[1.2.1.0] Clairvoyant Aether Cabalist - an aether sigil build that turned into a reap spirit build

Grimtools: Cabalist, Level 100 (GD 1.2.1.0) - Grim Dawn Build Calculator

hey, this is my first build guide despite lurking on these forums forever

i like sigil of consumption a very normal amount and definitely haven’t been trying to make builds out of every possible damage type or anything

i was playing around with a build that used similar itemization to @Willnoword’s Soul Perceptible build about a year and a half ago then took a real long break. his explanation of reap spirit as a nuke spell on its own sent me down a different path this time around.

i was going to go all in on aether sigil but got a pretty ridiculous Terrnox’s Aether Tome, gave that a whirl, and haven’t looked back. i originally expected a “green sigil + green doom bolt makes brain go brrr” build that was passable but instead got… something with a clear speed so fast i had to change my interface settings because i was struggling to find targets for reap spirit fast enough to keep up with the 1.2 (+ 25% chance of 0) second cooldown.

this build can clear all campaign content comfortably and shard 70 of SR reliably; i haven’t tried taking on any of the celestials yet, will post updates if i do.

playstyle is basically:

• cast debuffs
  • kool-aid man into monster pack with will of fallen kings
  • drop sigil
  • spam doom bolt and reap spirit on cooldown until everything’s dead
  • call of the grave/mark of torment in dicey situations, or just if you need extra damage output

make sure you listen for the jingle/watch for the hourglass icon that indicates you got a 0 second cooldown on your main DPS spells, this makes a big difference for kill speed