Am I doing something wrong?

Hey guys,

I recently started playing Grim Dawn and now I am not sure if my choices were good.

I want to play a dual wield melee character that can just jump in and survive all encounters. :blush:

Also, if possible, he should do a good amount of damage to shorten the fights. :relieved:

Actually, I am playing like this on epic difficulty:

https://www.grimtools.com/calc/DV93kajN

I finished normal + veteran difficulty at lv 47 and overall it wasn’t really difficult, but there was one thing that confuses me a bit.

I had no problems with normal enemies and most bosses, but most bosses behind these passages only available after detonation and also the end boss in malmouth (3 phases), I just could not kill like everything else.

I had to kite all day long and let my blade spirits do the work. Without them I really had no chance.

Yeah, so the fights are also very easy this way but that is just not the way I want to play.

So, my questions are:

• Is something wrong with my build?

• Am I doing something wrong?

• Is the reaper class even a meaningful choice for my playstyle or would I be better off starting a new character?

Furthermore, there is one thing that I really don’t like about Grim Dawn in general.
The costs for skill respec. I am at 500 gold now, what isn’t much but I read that the costs will rise to about 20000 iron and that is far too much and not theory crafting friendly.

As a new player wanting to jump into dual wield melee, I always suggest starting with blademaster. It will provide the most bang for your buck imo. It will be much more durable in the long run than a reaper will be. Here are a couple of great post detailing some early game to late game strategies for blademaster. They also contain a lot of good general game info relevant to the playstyle you are wanting to enjoy

as to your point about the boss in malmouth, lack of aether resist is the main problem why you arent able to stay toe to toe with him.

1 Like