Chillwhisper apostate, providing feedback and asking for help

This is a continuation of my bitching fit in 1.1.9.8 discussion thread, where I came complaining about Chillwhisper apostate being garbage. This time, I “took” the poor thing through the Crucible 150-170 and SR 75-76 (with some caveats I’ll cover below), so I have actual practical feedback to give.

So, here is the build I’ve been currently testing:

Shoutout to @Nery for the initial draft that sent me on this journey.

Now, I’m not a theorycrafter. I do have 2k hours in GD, but this is my first attempt at gathering a proper build myself. If anybody has advices on how to improve it, I’m all ears.

The feedback, from worst to less worst:

1. Energy management is an absolute, build-defining garbage, and the cornerstone of many other issues. DE with the set is completely unsustainable, both in the original Nery’s build and in all my modifications. This forced me towards Leviathan route, with the weird detour towards Harp just to make the build functional.

Solution: plug energy regen into the set, maybe an active skill, to make energy sustainable. And it needs A LOT. Maybe buff energy cost modifier for DE on the dagger. I don’t think it will break Infiltrator or Reaper that much. Dropping Harp will free up the points to go and grab circuit breakers the build desperately needs.

1. Damage is garbage on all the skills. DE on this set is simply weak, despite me going an extra mile to plug weapon damage into it. Alternative setup with more resist shred doesn’t work either, and the energy management prohibits build from going into Ulthos. Out of the 20 builds I’ve dragged through 75-76 SR and 150-170 CR this is one of the slowest.

Now, another aspect of the build and the set is Rune of Hagarrad. I can not stress enough how trash this skill is on its own, and how trash the Chillwhisper support for it is. It deals no damage. At all.