DPS detection problem

Hey folks, I’m new to the game (and flippin loving it). I’m a dual wielding pistol blasting sorcerer. Just got the ability to use both pistols (and cannister bomb which is so great along with it and searing light!) but now that I’m trying out new pistols…I have a problem.
The tooltip states that if I equip my new pistol in The offhand slot that it will up my dps by 31, but when I equip it it takes my weapon damage down by 9. I know there is a lot that goes into the deduction of overall dps. But I can’t find a place to track that (like they have in Path of Exile) and weapon damage seems to be the closest thing I can find. So any help I can get to figure out how to best track all this would be much appreciated. I’m very particular about this type of thing in these games lol

Thank you much in advance for your time!

Do you have a component or augment attached to your former weapon? That can affect it.

No I haven’t tried any of that yet, was not sure if I should wait to put them on better gear. But I did just look around a bunch more and found out where to track overall dps… Right in my dang face lol. And I’m assuming that is the best way to track your gear upgrades?