Generating a random number

FINAL EDIT: You need to change the value XXX in “goldAmountEquation,((generatorLevel*XXX)” to 100. That does the job.

How do you generate a random number between, lets say, 20-200? I know of math.random(20,200) but would that work inside of a .dbr file? Since the language is LUA it should work, right?

To give you a gist of what I’m trying to accomplish: I want the goldgenerator to drop at least XX amount of iron bits. I got that going (goldValueMin, XX,) but seeing the exact XX value everytime I break something, is immersion breaking. Too calculated, no RNGesus. So I want the object to drop at least XX amount of bits + a random XX amount on top of that.
e.g. 350 + math.random(20,200) = 435 Iron Bits
Obviously you would need to assign the “math.random” part a new name but would it work like this?

math.random(20,200) = ranInt
goldValueMin, 350 + ranInt,

I have basic coding knowledge but I’m still stupid… Do I need to create a new math.random function inside the goldgenerator.tpl first and then re-call that function inside the moneygenerator.dbr? If yes (I’m assuming you’d have to do that since a new function inside the .dbr without it being declared in the .tpl would just be ignored) what Type would it be? It should be Equation all things considered. And how would you call-up/use the function since if we look at the Equations for generating gold for multiple players - they calculate everything on the spot (I just noticed: what is generatorlevel? “goldAmountEquation, ((generatorLevel*.5)+15)*numberOfPlayers,” the answer to all my questions?:rolleyes:). What would be the correct syntax? A lot of questions but the ones about syntax and declaring/calling up the function are the most important ones.

I’d really appreciate it if someone could help or at least point to the documentation on those functions maybe x) tyvm

tl;dr: 1.) How do you create a new function in a .tpl
2.) How do you use that function in a .dbr