Is there a 'best' Commando build?

Hello, I am new to this game but with what I like to believe a considerable amount of experience in games like D2LOD (around 8 years and 6 lvl 98-99 chars) TL2 (running lvl 99 Engineer/melee and later Outlander/gunslinger)

Like I’ve been warned by the internet before started playing, my current character at lvl 34 is already messed up, but I would like to make one that I will max out because I don’t have the time to experiment with different classes and builds

What I am looking after is a RangedCommando (Demolitionist+Soldier) build because this reflects the most with what type of characters I like to play now (melee or mages/casters don’t appeal to me anymore)

What I would like concise help with is the following:

1. What type of damage should I focus on? Physical or Fire+other elements? And for this I would like you to take in consideration that if there are other classes combos who do one or the other better, for example: if Demo+arcanist are better at Fire Damage overall than Demo+soldier, then I would pick physical. But if Demo+soldier for example is better at physical damage but on the melee side, then I would really start question the success of this Ranged Commando

2. What type of weapon works better? DW Pistols or 2H Rifle? I know there are different aspects like pistols are faster, rifles have criticals. But if we were to pick at point 1 the Fire, would the pistols or rifles be better? And vice-versa.

3. Devotions are pretty self explanatory regarding damage be it physical or elemental

Right now, I am using a 2h rifle on my character and think I spent too many points maxing out Fire Strike and Explosive Strike, believing from previous games that the first will complement the second’s stats which isn’t true.

Also my style of playing right now is kiting mobs around and knocking them back and such but I would like some survivability also