It can be confusing to understand when and how the many available bonuses affect particular abilities

I’m new to the game but really enjoying it. I like all of the various systems that can be combined to build a character: masteries, equipment, components, constellations. It’s a blast.

It’s also frequently overwhelming, confusing, and obscure. For example, I’ll choose an ability that says it adds amount X of type T damage. I look at the character screen to see the updated information about what damage my primary and secondary attacks do, but it isn’t always clear how the X of T is reflected. Sometimes it doesn’t seem to be present at all. Sometimes it’s present in unpredictable and different amounts. And this is in addition to the fact that there’s no easy way to see how the X of T effects the rest of my abilities, or if it even effects them. I assume it does, but I’m not confident because the bonuses I see are applied so inconsistently.

With activated skills, there’s a sort of reassurance that comes from the animation accompanying the skill. If I call down lightning on someone, I feel confident that I’ve done lightning damage to them. All of the other bonuses, I mostly just hope work in a helpful way, even if all of my attempts to dive through the impressive list of stats available doesn’t show me that they’re working at all.

Especially with so many different damage and bonus types available, and so many sources for selecting them and (hopefully) gaining them, its confusing to figure what choices to make next as I play through the game. To be clear, I don’t want fewer options, I just can’t always figure out how to see what my choices are doing.

1. The game shows you damage numbers when dealing damage to enemies.
  2. There are training dummies present in the game.

You can do the math now.

1 Like