Newbie question: How to build around the Sharpshooter's Duty set?

Hey everyone,

so I recently started playing this game and am slowly learning my way around. Well, yesterday I was looking at the few sets I’ve already completed, and got interested on the Sharpshooter’s Duty set. I do want to make a ranged char, so I thought I could come up with a build for it.

However, I’m quite confused about how you’re supposed to build around a set like this. In between the set bonuses themselves and the individual item bonuses, there seems to be nearly half of them directed at pierce damage, while the other half is focused on fire/burn.

The Purifier does have access to some abilities that scale both fire and (physical, then converted to) pierce damage, and some abilities that give “generic” damage bonuses like extra crit damage. But I don’t see a way of working around enemies resistances - if I try to get resistance reduction to both damage types, then I end up stretching my skill points far too much. If I just get one, then the damage investment on the other is probably wasted on most of the game content, seeing how high resists are in GD.

I also thought about conversion, but from what I could find I’d only be able to get a really low part of my damage converted, as most items have like 10-15% damage conversion and I can’t use too many of them since I have most of my gear slots used by the set already.

Last option I could think of is just ignoring one of the damage types. But in that case I don’t really see the point of the set. If I’m going to build just for fire damage, isn’t it better to simply get gear that boosts fire damage exclusively? Same for pierce.