Normal difficulty - Did I get lucky?

Newbie here. Wanted to play a ranged gun chick. So many choices I decided to just wing it. I was lvl 46 and picked all my gear from grinding when I I took on the Gates of Torment and beat it first time.
What I ended up with is a fun grinder. I chose jacks first then demolition, and picked gear that gave a lot of resists and bonuses to electric offense. Am I lucky or is this what the game is like as we advance? About to end normal difficulty but the last few bosses have only taken a couple minutes if that, and I’m not that skilled anymore.
I had some problems around level 20-30 but since then it’s been pretty smooth.
Just looking for some feedback since I play alone.
Ignorant on how to link images with my stats. Sorry.

Use GrimTools to link your build: http://www.grimtools.com/calc/

In the upper left it has an option to upload your character. Just navigate to My Documents\My Games\Grim Dawn\Save\Main\Character Name and upload it then link it here. It brings everything over - gear, stats, skills, devotions, etc.

As for your build, if you’re not playing Veteran, most experiences will be like that as Normal is best suited for you to get a feel of the game. Luckily for you, you seem to have picked a damage type that is pretty plentiful, so it’s not too difficult to ramp up your lightning damage for Stun/Quick Jacks. Fire Damage is also everywhere, so Demolitionist is a good starting class.

Other than that, you could have gotten lucky with item drops and found a bunch of Rare and Epic items that compliment your build. If you do find yourself hitting a wall with damage or survival, don’t be afraid to post your build here and ask for help. There’s a lot of little nuances to this game that aren’t apparent when you first start.

Wow. That was an insanely fast and informative response.