Rune experts, why does my rune infiltrator not work?

What’s up, fellow builders.

I’ve been messing with my Infiltrator trying to come up with something and I ended up making trap/rune pierce build with Rimetongue set.

Here it is. Idea is simple, piercing runes (I have 88% conversion on this character) with support of steroided trap from new set and metric quadruple tonn of racial damage (and with decent level seal).

I made some improvements to it and some changes over the testing period (Valinov’s suggestion to add Bat devotion was very on point). BUT, I kept failing. While build dispatches of some hero packs and some bosses with the phenomenal speed, I kept dying in all kinds of spots, like for example in Ancient Grove run versus that green snake boss, or versus Kuba in main campaign. I watched some videos of other builders playing their rune builds, yet it’s either me being a complete noob or build being not realistic.

Here is a video of “naked” run at 100-110, where I just die to Ben’Jahr in a pretty unimpressive scrap.

So calling out everyone who had success with rune builds, what’s wrong with mine?

My setup (second post): http://www.grimdawn.com/forums/showthread.php?t=74030

I think it’s a lack of damage on your part. At less than 1600 % pierce and no rune mods you’re bound to face such problems. Look at the ben part, you’re supposed to take a large chunk of hp with just one rune but it doesn’t happen all the time. Also in my setup linked above, it still doesn’t do that much damage even with 100% conversion and maxed rune, though it’s for a bit different reason. Part of why cold rune is so strong is because there’s a big amount of mod support for it. I’ll recommend dual witch moons, though that will make skill distribution really hard, which is why in my setup I use blind assassin set.