Where do you place your barracks?

I have a good idea of how to position most buildings in relation to each other but the barracks flummox me. I’m not good at military strategy. Do you place them on the outskirts of your town? Or closer to the center? What’s ideal?

Barracks make really good Super Towers with more ranged fire available, so I tend to put them right behind the walls on major avenues of Raider approach to augment the towers’ fire. If I have a really sprawling town, that means placing Barracks on opposite sides of the town so that the troops in them can react to raiders coming from several directions, and I have tried placing Barracks in the middle of town as a ‘reaction force’. Since I try to stop raiders from getting into town in the first place (“Stop 'em at the Wall!”) that, for me at least, is a second best solution.

I use two strategies. First is to keep it close to where the raiders are heading, the Town Centre and/or the Vault. The second is to place a barracks with a three-person crew behind two or three towers and surrounded by double stone walls along a known line of Raider approach, the towers being double manned as well.
I find the first strategy to be cheaper, the second creates kill zones if you leave a narrow, clear path between the walls.

since distance to invaders matters because soldiers have travel time i like to evenly space them out across the area of the town when possible, so as if each barracks is assigned slices of the pie of the city. not always possible, but it’s what i try to do, so the soldiers aren’t running for miles before they can reach the raiders that are busting down walls.

barracks has sort of dual use…

1. as mentioned, sort of a super tower of sorts, if you keep the soldiers garrisoned, their DPS (damage per second) is much higher than guard towers, and their cost per soldier in terms of gold, is much lower than guard towers.