[1.2] Beginner's Fire Pet Cabalist

The Necromancer is my favourite mastery in Grim Dawn and plenty powerful. My first level 100 was a Death Knight, my second was a Ritualist and my third was… not a Necromancer, but that’s not the point. I spent a lot of time playing Diablo II back in the day and my favourite character there too was the Necromancer. For the longest time, the Fishymancer build was my go-to and the ability to take your pets with you when you teleport led to hours days of fun, tele-stomping act bosses and farming loot for… reasons.

When I started playing Grim Dawn, I loved the idea of a Skeleton pet build, and I found several guides for level 100 Skeleton builds that all looked great, but there was no Cabalist pet guide in the Beginner’s Build Guide Compendium and the one Skeleton heavy levelling guide I did find was a Ritualist which plays better with the Ghol’s set which has no support for skeletons. Sure, I could level as a Vitality Caster and then swap at 100, but where’s the fun in that? I want to level with skeletons, farm the gear for the end-build with skeletons and just generally play with skeletons. If I wanted a vitality caster, I’d make one.

So just like Thanos, I said “Fine, I’ll do it myself.” Then I promptly forgot about it for months.

Anyhow, the goal of this guide is to make something capable of starting from nothing, playing through a hardcore campaign, on SSF rules and then transition into a Lost Souls build. I think the result looks solid/powerful enough to be called a beginner’s guide to the Skeleton Pets Cabalist.

1.2 Update - Buffs all 'Round... Mostly.

Patch 1.2 comes with buffs for this build pretty much across the board. We even picked up a few free skill points from item buffs. Korvaak’s Burning-Blade now also converts pet Vitality damage to fire, so we’re full on fire pets!

• Blood of Dreeg gets its cooldown reduced (more heals!) as well as it’s duration increased.

• Possession gets extra damage absorption %