Controller UI, also Options, Misc

Since coming back to GD, I’ve started playing a lot with controller, both to try out the controller support and to mitigate physical issues I have with prolonged M+KB usage. I also have been absorbing a lot of YT videos and articles about video game accessibility. This feedback will reflect these factors.

1. Option for text error message for trying to pick an item up when inventory full.

2. Separate options for Audio → Error Voice Over Message into “Error Voice Over Message (Skills)” and “Error Voice Over Message (Inventory)”. Primarily addresses playing masteries that involve a lot of active ability binds for users who still want an audio cue for when trying to pick up items while inventory is full. This is something I noticed when I started playing Nightblade.

3. Controller inventory management kinda sucks. Virtual mouse cursor is fundamentally bad but I accept it as a necessary evil. However, D-pad cursor movement can definitely be better: when not holding an item with cursor, D-pad cursor movement should try to track to the next item in the direction pressed. (It should not track to the next grid space.) This is to address shopping on a controller. Potentially, such a feature would make shopping easier than mouse and keyboard, since you could easily clear out your inventory with a few button presses with an effective implementation.

4. Controller menu movement could be slightly improved by including RT and LT (trigger buttons) in the UI menu changing. Ex. in the Skills menu, RT and LT could swap between Mastery/Devotion tabs. Ex. in the inventory, RT/LT could swap between active inventory bag, or be contextually sensitive to the cursor’s environment, ex. RT/LT navigating tabs in the Codex/journal. Same with Factions (could swap between factions).