Having trouble decrypting the GD save files

Hi,

I am very new to modding for Grim Dawn and am writing a parser for the transfer.gst file. I am following the examples at this URL: http://www.lost.org.uk/grimdawn.html, but am running into an issue.

I think it’s a lack of understanding in how the file has to be decrypted. In the code, I don’t know what the “key” variable refers to, what the “mod” variable refers to, and what the “version” refers to.

Looking at http://www.lost.org.uk/grimdawn/decryptstash.java, I also have no idea how the author knows where the different values are within the byte sequence of the file, but he does.

Does anyone know where I can find out more information on how to properly decrypt the grim dawn save files?

1 Like

Welcome to the forum. :slightly_smiling_face:

Have you looked at the guides here to see if they have anything that might help? Grim Dawn's Modding Tools + User-Generated Tutorials to Get Started

Nothing there is likely to assist him with decrypting save files. Someone like @mamba (or anyone else that has made tools that manipulate/read save files) might be better able to guide him in that area.

I need to learn that to. I’d like to have something for easier / automatic Tributes increasing so that I don’t have to use GDStash for that / minimize the game. Hacking game’s memory (without using Cheat Engine) would be best but that’s too difficult for me.
@recursive thanks for the links

In the end any route you choose is going to require tabbing out of the game to do anything that modifies your saves. Well, I suppose if you figure it out you could always write a script and global hotkey it to call it from within game - hard to say if it would work with your character loaded into the world/crucible tho.

Main Menu is enough for GDStash Character changes. That’s what I was thinking.
Yes, hotkey or even file monitor if possible that would do that automatically
(you go to main menu and back to Crucible with full Tributes)