How come i see no oppressor pet builds?

I haven’t played grim Dawn for a long time and never really got into it, since i just can’t find a playstyle that fits me, but because of that i tend to look at most presented builds and especially the theorycrafted ones for oathkeeper.

I found something quite confusing: there seem to be no pet builds for the oppressor, which would be a logical combination of poison pets and buff/debuff auras.
is there something obviously bad, that i can’t see because of my inexperience?

Well, I’m no expert, but from what I’m seeing, high-level pet items do not support Acid pets for Necromancer, but rather Cold, Vitality, or Aether.

Edit : that being said, you could try to make it work!

Because the oathkeeper doesn’t really provide pet bonuses.

Oathkeeper doesn’t do a whole lot for pets. You get 1 aura that provides OA, flat Trauma/Bleed and Physical damage, Celestial Presence for Physical/Bleed RR, Crushing Verdict for reduced DA.That’s about it really (unless I’m missing something).

It’s a similar situation to how after AoM released, there weren’t any pet Death Knights because people tried it and found it to not work well as Soldier does not really do much for pets either.

That being said, I’ve seen people experiment with things like pet Witchblades over time so chances are someone will eventually try a couple OK combos like Archon. Whether they’re successful is another question entirely.

thanks for the explanation, i didn’t think that oathkeepers were that bad for pets, since they have one themselves and their aura could enable pet acid/reflect builds, but on the other hand i never looked into what made occultists good for pet builds apart from bonds of bysmiel (and having 2 summons, but so does necro)

Guardians of Empyrion are not pets, they scale with player bonuses.

holy crap, that is the one information that explains everything for me, thanks! didn’t know there were different types of npc “pets”