Necrotic Edge needs changes

This WPS animation is still too long, and it becomes even longer during lag spikes. I won’t guess why that happens, maybe the animation is heavy on the engine, or on the CPU, or smth else, i’m no expert here, but it does happen. It’s hard to illustrate properly because the biggest problem is during lags which occur when there is too much stuff on the screen to tell things apart. Here is just one example outside of clutter:

During the Zantarin fight, note how long the Necrotic swing is and how late the impact happens (jump to the end to observe the same effect during final fights vs Zantarins). This allows monsters not only to sometimes dodge the hits by sidestepping but also simply to kill you if you receive two heavy hits during this long animation. Basically to take this WPS you need to cover yourself with another layer of defense.

The nail in the Necrotic’s coffin for me was this build which had Necrotic at 13/12 at first:
https://www.grimtools.com/calc/YNn8XrGV

Aside from bad animation, it illustrated another big flaw of the skill - chance to confuse. Enemy confusion is detrimental to a dedicated melee build, both for performance and survivability. Confused monsters lose aggro, spread around, recover their skills, have a chance to be healed.

The melee ability to deal high burst dmg in a small AoE is effectively countered by confusion which acts like a smart retreat - a forbidden technology for Grim Dawn fauna. It confuses me greatly, why a melee(ranged) WPS would have confusion on it.

Long story short, i removed Necrotic for dual Seal of the Void. The build became faster and more reliable.

Every dedicated melee build i’ve ever made with Necrotic suffered from these issues, and they were much more profound with 2H (even slower animation). One exception is Reaper with Spectral Battle Axes, due to synergy between high WD and high %WD bonuses from the items.