Need Help with a simple mod

Hello,

I just wanted to mod the “Squall”-Skill to not last the standart 12 seconds but 30 and to have 5 max and not only 3.
Using Asset Manager and the tutorials here I was able to extract the files from GD and both dlc AoM and FG.
So I went on to edit squall1.dbr (worked fine). But how do I get the modded data into the game? When I try to build a mod I always get an error

Can somebody please hint me what I’m doing wrong or maybe just gimme a file covering above mentioned modded data?

Best regards

HKL

Hi, I’ll try to help out. I’m also new in this whole GD modding shenanigans…
So, the changes you want are super easy to do.
Get into Asset Manager, go look for squall01.dbr at records\skills\playerclass06.

Open and you should see (on your left) all the different groups that skill has. Spawn Config should be the 2nd from the top. Go in there and set petLimit to 5, instead of 3 and spawnObjectsTimeToLive to 30, instead of 12.

Done, just build the mod (usually pressing F7 or choosing Build on the top bar).

Also, this is me guessing, your error might be because your game files weren’t properly extracted? Check this out: [Script][Basics]Modding Beginner's Guide I

Maybe you don’t have it setup properly. Also, try to run Asset Manager with Admin Privileges (right click it and choose run with Admin Privileges.

Anything else, I’m still a noob too :sweat_smile:

Hope it helps :smiley:

Hey Skrytek,

thanks for your comment.
I’ve done that exactly as you described.
Extracted the data to …\Grim Dawn\Mods\database, modified the mentioned file and pressed F7.
So AM builds database.arz and templates.arc in folder …\Grim Dawn\Mods\database.
No error this time, but when starting the game its still 3 WD and 12 sec duration…

Confused…