Newb in need of help - DW Purifier stuck in elite

Hi all - been playing GD for a few weeks and after a few runs with various characters to get a feel for the game I decided I liked the idea of a dual wielding gunslinger type so found the Purifier. Without any prior knowledge I found this guide:

https://www.requnix.com/gaming/grim-dawn-builds/dual-wield-fire-lightning-gun-purifier

It looked fine to me, and I was following it pretty closely until I started finding threads and comments that, in so many words, imply that that this guide (arguably all of those on that site) are no good. Now I am no pro builder or anything but am leaning towards that being a pretty good opinion as once I finished normal with no issues at all, Elite has proven to be quite hard. So I decided to try to respec based off this guide:

And - I am still sort of stuck. Mostly because I am not sure what to prioritize. The bottom line is my damage output is pathetic and survivablity is very dicey. Trash mobs are no issue but champions and bosses are a nightmare and usually end up in a death. Currently I am completely stuck at Level 61 and cannot, after several attempts, get past the Warden.

Now I know my resists need some work - having been a long time Diablo/D2 player I grasp the concept but am still limited by what I can find. And after having done some research I found that my pierce resist is too low and those spiny attacks that the Warden does are usually the end of me if I cant dodge them. And, my gear sucks :confused: I am constantly on the lookout for better pistols but so far - nothing.

Thing is, since this is my highest level character I dont have a very big pool of items to choose from yet. And I am still searching for better gear while I work on DPS and resists. I am trying to do the best with what is available to me until I find better. Here is my build:

https://www.grimtools.com/calc/DV9zlAnZ