Savagery/Primal Strike Build Advice

Heya

I’m new to the game and i didn’t want to follow a premade build, so i’m using “Lordfluffly’s guide to creating your own build” from reddit as a guideline on how to find my own build. (Sorry, i can’t link it because as a new user i’m only allowed to post 2 links, and i need those for my build ideas.)

I ended up deciding on going with 2H melee Savagery as primary and Primal Strike without transmuter as a secondary/nuke skill with lightning as a primary damage type.

Now i have hit a snag though, mostly when it comes to choose my secondary class. Currently i’m unsure between Soldier and Demolitionist. I have clicked together the following 2 builds, completely ignoring gear, i’ll see what i can get while i’m playing. I’m planning to be looking for resistances, physical to lightning conversion (or, as i am currently using, a weapon that deals lightning damage to begin with) and +% lightning damage.
I did use a guide for the devotions because tbh i really didn’t feel like digging into that aspect as well after just spending 2 hours reading and thinking about all the skills of the other classes. So here the 2 builds i came up with:

With Soldier
With Demolitionist

Since i have absolutely no experience with anything later in the game (i’m only lvl 25 now) i’m sure you guys with tons of hours spent in the game will be screaming looking at those builds because i made mistakes that are totally obvious to you. And that’s what i’m here for. Are there smallish changes i can make to make a big improvement on those builds? I’m especially unsure about Torrent, Storm Surge and Storm Touched. Well, that, and pretty much all the skills from the secondary class…
I have also been thinking about using Arcanist as secondary class, mainly ofr Iskander’s Elemental Exchange with Manifestation, but it didn’t seem all that great to me.

Or is the whole idea of Savagery with Primal Strike as nuke doomed to fail anyway?