What the hell is up with Crucible?

So I’m pretty new to this mode - I’ve spent a lot more time in SR. And with good reason!

Crucible seems absolutely ridiculous. Now, excuse my vent in advance. But I actually completed 150-170 (gladiator) on 2 of my characters and I did so on the first try (or the second, I think, on one of them).

These are the 2 toons who have attempted & beat it:

https://www.grimtools.com/calc/M2ggl362
https://www.grimtools.com/calc/nZoy4kE2

(The latter is a hybrid auto-attack/caster using 2 runes, both bound to rightclick with autohotkey.)

After that I thought I’d repeat the run and see how fast I can do it, since it was originally un-timed. Big mistake! I started getting my ass kicked out of nowhere, and after a few tries I rage-quit in frustration.

What’s up with that? Is this normal? I was able to complete it pretty safely on both guys first time round. Maybe I was just being super cautious. Or maybe the mode is just full of crap. I started having trouble with that stupid asshole Aleksander on wave 160 (and he likes to respawn 161 too). So, I naturally move around to avoid his aether bombs, but something in the wave keeps giving ridiculous DOT damage. It can’t be him, surely, since aether has no DOT (and I’ve killed him dozens of times in SR to boot).

Anyway, just thought I’d vent. I’m perplexed that people can post up here like 5 minute runs of the whole 20 waves as if that is the norm. Surely not? I just see no point to this challenge once you have beaten it, since SR is actually way easier and (I think?) gives better loot…

1 Like

Yes, it’s normal to be frustrated by Crucible, at least for me. But also very satisfying if you overcome difficulties by tweaking the build or improving your strategy / piloting.

Did you use buffs, storm beacons and stand in the seal?
You first character has bad Aether res overcap, it can hurt.
Your second one has bad Vitality and Poison overcap.