Can one even mod (change) names of NPCs in Grim Dawn?

I’m totally new to modding and just discovered that Grim Dawn seems to be very modding friendly, so assume that learning modding by using the tools provided by the devs of GD is a good way to start learning modding in general, right? Out of curiosity I also happened to ask ChatGPT if it was easy to for example mod the names of NPCs in GD, and it says it would be a relatively easy project with no need for C++ coding skills - trying to learn C++ by the way - so the next step is then to ask here on the forum if changing the names of NPCs in the single player campaign is actually possible? If it is possible, I will appreciate it if anyone can please recommend a way to start this exercise in modding.

The 2nd post from this thread: [Script][Basics]Modding Beginner's Guide I - #2 by Elfe

And then maybe 1st post from here: [Script][Basics]Modding Beginner's Guide II

You can also ask in Grim Dawn Discord’s modding section

Cool, and since you answer in this way I assume that changing names of NPCs is indeed possible?

When learning how to change text files in GD will it help me get more general knowledge about modding text files in other games (that uses C++)?

Haven’t done it so I’m not sure

no, Grim Dawn modding has nothing to do with C++
there are some Lua scripts to change if you’d like to learn that

Read that the devs of DG have released (all?) the tools they used to create DG, so is it not reasonable to assume that also NPC names can be changed?

Did ChatGPT reply correctly when simply writing this:

Here is an example of a LUA script that modifies the NPC name “John” to “Alex” in the game Grim Dawn:

Copy code

-- Find the NPC named

"John" 

local npc = 
Game.GetNPC("John") 

-- Change the NPC's 
name to "Alex" 
npc:SetName("Alex")