Dutch translation

If you are interested, I could dedicate my time to creating a Dutch translation of the game. I’ve got a little under 10 years professional experience in my bi-lingual pair (EN-NL) and am familiar with the quirks translating software strings.

Just let me know if Dutch is a language you would like to add. I know it’s a less common tongue but is still spoken in a decent amount of locations.

Dutch might be interesting for some people.
But although I am from The Netherlands I never play games in Dutch if the language is available. On the other hand it might be nice for the what younger players from our country.

Hmm… point - although I don’t think Grim Dawn would be particularly suited for players too young to understand enough English anyway.

Anyway, it’s an offer. I understand the very limited target audience; depends on how many people would prefer a game like this in Dutch. l10n for a small handful of people would indeed not be a very good thing to do :wink:

I’m from the netherlands as well. And the reason there are so few dutch translations is because it is a horrible language. I’ve never seen a movie, tv episode, music, games or anything else that survived a translation. Because when you translate it into dutch the words needed will make it sound really childish or destroy the jokes made. Remember those game shows that always said “spellen/spelletjes” instead of games? It made me feel not taken seriously.

So to make a translation work you need to keep so many english words it isn’t worth the effort. Besides…We’re grown up with multi languages from a very young age. Bombarded with english…and the dutch people use these days is so bastardized it is mostly english with some incomprehensible nigger crap thrown in.

In short. No translations please.

Not sure about the demand. Well, I guess the question is more, if you want there to be a Dutch translation. Given the audience a Dutch translation might not be worth the effort.