Something Clever about stomping: Callidor's tempest spellbinder. (SR 65+, controller friendly)

Part one of my controller friendly build series: Callidor’s spellbinder

The (cheap) gear that I cleared SR65 in.

PNG

Ideal gear GT link (get 2 stun resist crafting bonuses)

Playstyle: stand and smash with Callidor’s Tempest until your enemies are dead. Use Mirror of Ereoctes and Mark of Torment to not die.

A note on perfomance: I don’t do crucible, so I’m not sure if this would work well there. And I’m really bad at shattered realm - this was my first ever clear of SR 65 on any character, so I know I have a lot to learn. I would be surprised is someone experienced couldn’t push this much higher, especially if they have Mark of Anathema.

Video proof of clear
Fight tips

(keep in mind I’m not very good at this game.)

• Offense: callidor’s tempest + siphon souls on CD. The pets from Agrivix’s set hit reasonably hard, so you can order them to attack a primary target. Or you can let them spread their resist reduction to as many targets as possible.

• Defense: aether corruption every 5s. Mark of torment (henceforth called MoT) and mirror of Ereoctes (MoE) as needed. In tough fights, I use MoT, stand and attack for its duration, then cast nullification and MoE and run away until MoT comes off CD. This usually takes only a few seconds, since this build has so much CD reduction. Your get a ton of life from attacking, so try to do that as much as possible. Make sure MoT is cast on something that won’t die and waste uptime. This can be a little tricky on a controller, but with a combination of practice and standing on a boss’s feet you can make it work.

Gear

Essential Gear:

• Maw of despair: contains fire to aether conversion and 6% damage to health for CT, which is essential for survival.
  • Agrivix set: the core of this build. Try to get as much cooldown reduction as possible on the offhand. Even 1% makes a big difference in MoE/MoT uptime.