Noob caster build?

Hi. Im fairly new to Grim Dawn. I have the Ashes of Malmouth DLC. What is a good starter caster build?

Any specific preferences?

Welcome to the game and to the forum. :slightly_smiling_face:

You can look here for a few beginner builds for AoM.

They might need a bit of adapting since a lot of items have had changes made since AoM released, but in general they should be good.

2 Likes

i just dont know where to start. Its all overwhelming. Im new to the whole ARPG scene.

Try starting with Demolitionist, get Blackwater Cocktail (with High Potency), Canister Bomb and Thermite Mine. Devotion-wise beeline Magi first then slowly work your way towards Ulzuin’s Torch. That should carry you up to high levels. Second class is probably Inquisitor, but it’s mostly for some extra support.

Alternatively you can start with Inquisitor and play with Rune of Hagarrad with Artifact Mastery. Second class is usually Nightblade, Occultist or Shaman.

Lightning I won’t recommend because after many nerfs I don’t know how it performs at the moment.

There are also easy vitality/acid casters based around Necromancer’s Ravenous Earth. Second class is usually Occultist.

1 Like

Maybe just play however you feel like and read forums if you have problems. That’s probably the best start. You can always respec if needed. Relax and don’t get into paralysis by analysis. I know, easier said than done.

1 Like

GD has a lot of moving parts, mechanics etc and it can be a lot to take in all at once if you are new. My advice would be to play and learn what you can as you go along. Hit the H key in-game to read thru the various tutorial tips, read the Game Guide as you get time, browse the official Wiki for a large variety of information covering all aspects of the game, eventually familiarize yourself with GrimTools - most especially its Build Calculator as it is extremely invaluable to anyone serious about learning how to piece together a proper build.