[Tool] GD save file editor

GD Savefile editor

Links:
https://tiny.cc/gdedexe (Windows)
https://tiny.cc/gdednixbin (Linux)

What is it?

This is a tool that lets you look at and modify the contents of your save file.
Want to rename your character? Sure.
Want to change your level? What about skill points or devotion points? Not a problem.
Want to a specific piece of gear? Easy.

That is… if you’re willing to put up with a command-line tool.

Yes, it’s a command-line tool. Why would I choose to make such a thing?
Because… I’m a lazy programmer?

A command-line tool lets me just focus on dealing with the features instead of fighting the UI. If
you’re willing to overlook the barebones non-UI, I think you’ll find a pretty useful little utility
to tweak your character to better enjoy the game.

Need help?

Please see the FAQ page first!

https://odie.github.io/gd-edit-docs/faq/

There’s even a search function there.
If an answer isn’t there, you can always post your question here!

Also, if you’d like an exhaustive list of commands and detailed documentation on them, try:
https://odie.github.io/gd-edit-docs/commands/

Leave me a note here if any of the documentation seems hard to read!

Before getting started

This thing needs Java 8 to run.
You can get your very own copy here: https://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
Please be sure to download the 64bit version for your platform.

How to use it

TLDR version

• show command to explore and examine fields
  • set command to set new values into fields
  • help <cmd name> command to see some help and get some examples
  • Press up-arrow key for command history

The First step

Run the program. A “beautiful” command line window will pop up, having located all your save files. A little > is shown at the bottom of the screen, showing you that the program is waiting for your input. This is “the prompt”.